24.1 C
New York
Sunday, June 26, 2022

Buy now


Body to probe into ‘physical assault’ during Punjab CM election


Deputy Speaker of Punjab Assembly Sardar Dost Muhammad Mazari on Sunday constituted a committee to probe physical assault on the presiding officer and lawmakers and obstruction in the proceedings during the election of the Punjab chief minister a day earlier.

“Therefore, in the exercise of all the enabling powers, the acting speaker/presiding officer/deputy speaker provincial assembly of Punjab has been pleased to constitute a special committee in terms of Rule 187 of the Rules of Procedure of the Provincial Assembly of the Punjab 1997 consisting of the above mentioned,” read the notification.

A nine-member committee will put forth its recommendations for appropriate action against those responsible.

The members belong to five political parties – two each from PML-N and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI0, one each from Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), Rahi Haq Party and two independent members. MPA Qasim Abbas Khan (independent candidate) will be the convener of the committee.

Also read: Hamza ‘elected’ Punjab CM

From the PML-N’s side, MPAs Malik Muhammad Ahmad Khan and Samiullah Khan; from the PTI, Taimoor Ali Lali and Muhammad Salman; from the PPP, Syed Ali Haider Gillani; from the PML-Q, Muhammad Abdullah Warraich; from Rahi Haq Party, Muhammad Moavia; and independents Qasim Abbas Khan (convener) and Syeda Maimanat Mohsin will be part of the committee.

The body may add to the terms of reference or co-opt any other MPA whom it may deem necessary for the discharge of its functions.

All the concerned ministers, administrative secretaries and heads of the government and line departments and organisations shall assist the committee in discharging its functions. It shall also consider any other matter referred to it by the house and submit its report within seven days.

On Saturday, PML-N leader Hamza Shehbaz was “elected” as the new chief minister of the province securing 197 votes amid the chaos that erupted in the provincial assembly, but his rival candidate declared the polls as “illegal”.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles